Times Hero Award

STEP 1: Share this page

STEP 2: Vote for your favorite Time Hero in each category

Daily Times 91st Anniversary

A Celebration of the Nations Heritage and Heroes.

Date: 16th May 2017
Time: 6.00pm
Venue: Abuja International Conference Center
Central Area, Area 11, 900 Herbert Macaulay Way

The Daily Times of Nigeria (DTN), the nation’s heritage newspaper, has mapped out activities to mark its 91st anniversary, commencing May 16, 2017 with exhibition at the Abuja International Conference center.

The Anniversary committee revealed that the celebration would be flagged off with the National and Historic Exhibition, an ‘AA’ top level exhibition with the theme: “Nigeria through the Times …” at the entrance foyer of Abuja International Conference Centre on May 16, 2017 from 3.00pm till 6.00pm and at the Nigerian Institute of International Affairs (NIIA), Victoria Island, Lagos from June 1 to June 6, 2017.

The Exhibition, according to the release, is aimed at bringing back to our memories, the vision and struggles of our founding fathers who laboured vigorously for the Nigerian independence as exclusively documented by the Daily Times and retained in its very rich archives.

The Times Heroes Awards 2017, which comes as icing on the anniversary cake, will climax the celebration and will hold at the Abuja International Conference Centre, Conference Hall from 6.30pm on May 16, 2017. The keynote speaker is H.E. AsiwajuTinubu. The Awards are instituted to honour deserving heroes who have distinguished themselves in various endeavours and whose activities have positively impacted lives, “a legacy the Times Nigeria has canvassed over the years

Heroes to be honoured this year include: President Muhammadu Buhari, who is being given Nnamdi Azikiwe Leadership Award, President Nana Akufo-Ado of Ghana with The Babatunde Jose Leadership Award, the immediate past President of Nigeria, President Goodluck Jonathan to be honoured with Ernest Ikoli Leadership Award, and the Nigeria Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki, to be awarded with the Politician of the Year Award.

One of the governors who will be honoured with the Good Governance award is Abia State Governor, Dr. Okezie Ikpeazu. Seven other governors – Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode (Lagos); Ibrahim Dankwabo (Gombe); Bindo Jubrilla (Adamawa); Nyesom Wike (Rivers); Willie Obiano (Anambra); Yahaya Bello (Kogi); and Atiku Bagudu (Kebbi), are also billed to receive the Good Governance award during the event. Governor Dankwabo is being honoured with Governor of the Decade.

Business icon, Mr. Tony Elumelu, Chairman, Heirs Holding and UBA, will be crowned with Man of the Decade Award; Mrs. Ibukun Awosika, Chairman, First Bank Plc, will be awarded Woman of the Decade while Pastor Paul Adefarasin, will bag the Life Impact Award. Others to be honoured include Pinnacle Communications Limited and Nigerian Media icons such as Nduka Obaigbena, John Momoh, Linda Ikeji and Chris Ubosi.

This year’s Awards, the anniversary planning committee noted, is a consolidated award in that the last award by the Daily Times was in 1996 when the Daily Times marked her 70th anniversary. Henceforth,” the Times Heroes Awards has now been instituted to be an annual award.”

Notable icons of the Daily Times are Sir Adeyemo Alakija, Ernest Ikoli and Alhaji Babatunde Jose. Others are Dr. Patrick Dele Cole, Chief Henry Odukomaiya, and Chief Segun Osoba. They also include, Mr. Sam Amuka, Mr. Tony Momoh and Chief Onyema Ugochukwu. Other Icons of Daily Times are Dr. Yemi Ogunbiyi, Chief Innocent Oparadike (late), Araba Tola Adeniyi, Tunji Oseni, Onukaba Adinoyi- ojoi and others.

“The event is expected to attract people from all walks “the promotion of humanitarian causes”.

%d bloggers like this: