Press "Enter" to skip to content

Shettima Is New Chairman of Northern Governors Forum

Borno State Governor, Alhaji Kashim Shettima has emerged the new  chairman of the Northern Governors Forum.
He takes over from the outgoing Governor of Niger State, Muazu Babangida Aliyu who has been chairman of the forum since 2008.
The Borno State Governor was named the successor of Aliyu at a meeting of the forum held at the Niger State Governor’s Lodge in Abuja.
The meeting was attended by 12 governors.
Speaking after the meeting, Governor Aliyu disclosed that there was an ongoing move to unite the two factions of the Nigerian Governors’ Forum, NGF, with a view to helping to rebuild the
Forum for a better Nigeria.
He said: “The goal is to mediate and unite the Nigeria Governors’ Forum, NGF, that has been fragmented in the past few years”.
Governor Aliyu disclosed that the northern governors have resolved to address the Boko Haram insurgency in the north, assuring that it would soon come to an end.
The Governors, Aliyu added, also agreed to solve the problems of  poverty, marginalization, unemployment in the north, adding that with the office of VicePresident, Namadi Sambo, the northern Governors had concluded arrangements to revive the long rested New Nigeria Company in Kaduna.
In his speech, Shettima assured that the governors would unite to fight Boko Haram and promised that with the new leadership, the body would be one family to confront the challenges of the north irrespective of religious differences.
In attendance at the meeting were governors of Gombe, Adamawa, Kaduna, Niger, Benue, Kwara, Borno, Zamfara, Bauchi, Kebbi, Kano Governor- elect, and Kogi State deputy governor.
The new leadership will be inaugurated next month.
Meanwhile, the Nigeria Governors Forum (NGF) meeting was taking place at the Transcorp Hilton, Abuja, on Monday night in Abuja.
The meeting, which was for 8 pm was yet to commence at press time.
Members from the factions of both Governors Chibuike Amaechi  of Rivers State and Jonah Jang of Plateau State were present at the meeting.
At at press time, eight governors including Governor Chibuike Amaechi had arrived at the venue.
They included Emmanuel Uduaghan (Delta State), Ramalan Yero (Kaduna), Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso (Kano), Tanko Al-Mukura (Nasarawa) and Abiola Ajimobi (Oyo).

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: