Press "Enter" to skip to content

Senate confirms 7 more INEC RECs

On Wednesday, seven out of the nine Resident Electoral Commissioners nominated by the Presidency had their appointment confirmed by the the Senate.

The confirmed nominees were Baba Abba Yusuf from Borno and Segun Agbaje from Ekiti who were both reappointed.

Others are Uthman Abdulrahman Ajidagba from Kwara, Cyril Omorogbe from Edo. Yahsya Bello from Nasarawa, Emmanuel Alex Hart from Rivers and Mohammed Magaji Ibrahim from Gombe.

Their confirmation followed the submission of the report of the Committee on Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on the screening for confirmation of the RECs by Senator Suleiman Nazif, chairman of the committee.

Eric Olawale from Osun failed to show up for screening while Monday Udoh Tom from Akwa Ibom State stood down his appointment.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: