Re-run: PDP wins Kuje chairmanship election Press "Enter" to skip to content

Re-run: PDP wins Kuje chairmanship election

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the chairmanship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Abdulahi Sabo, winner of the supplementary poll for Kuje Area Council of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

The INEC had on March 9, declared the chairmanship election in the area inconclusive due to electoral violence at some poling units in Rubochi and Kwaku.

INEC Returning Officer, Prof. Titus Ibekwe, who announced the result, said Sabo scored the highest votes of 19, 090, to defeat the incumbent chairman, Abdulahi Galadima of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who scored 15, 187.

He said that “Abdulahi Sabo of the PDP, having satisfied the requirements of the law and having the highest number of votes, is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected.”

However, some political thugs tried to disrupt the voting process at Rubochi, but were immediately stopped by the security operatives present at the poling unit.

Some residents and supporters of Sabo in Kuje metropolis spilled onto adjoining streets in jubilation over the PDP victory.

Spokesman for the declared winner, Yusuf Dabo, said the outcome of the supplementary election was a victory for the entire people of Kuje and a victory for democracy.