Ondo Assembly confirms 18 names as Akeredolu’s commissioners


The Ondo State House of Assembly on Tuesday confirmed the names of the 18 commissioners designates forwarded to the lawmakers for confirmation by Governor Rotimi Akeredolu.

The names were cleared 15 days after they were forwarded to the House of Assembly by Governor Akeredolu on July 31 for consideration.

Names of the 18 commissioners were confirmed after the committee on Screening and Selection had finished its work and recommended the adoption of the names for confirmation.

The House committee on Screening and Selection which screened the 18 commissioners was headed by the Speaker, Hon. Davide Oleyeloogun.

Speaking, Iroju Ogundeji, Deputy Speaker of the House of Assembly presented the report of the committee and said that the nominees had been found qualified for the tasking job.

Hon. Ogundeji who is representing Odigbo Constituency at the Assembly explained that the nominees also had the requisite and educational qualifications to be appointed as commissioners.

He later presented the recommendation of the Committee to the lawmakers on behalf of the Assembly Speaker before it was unanimously adopted.

“I hereby present the recommendation of this committee to the house for your adoption”, Hon. Ogundeji said.

The Daily Times reported that the 18 commissioner designates met with Governor Akeredolu at his Alagbaka office shortly after their confirmation.

The 18 commissioners are expected to be assigned their various portfolios after they must have been sworn in by the acting Chief Judge of the state at a date to be announced by Governor Akeredolu.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here