Press "Enter" to skip to content

Odigie-Oyegun bags UI 2015 Alumni Award

 On Saturday, June 11, the University of Ibadan Alumni Association will confer the 2015 Alumnus of the Year Award – the Association’s highest honour – on one of the institution’s outstanding graduates, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun, National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and first Executive Governor of Edo State.

Chief Odigie-Oyegun, CON, is the first to be honoured by the University of Ibadan Alumni Association. He is a 1963 graduate of the University of Ibadan, where he studied Economics.

The Luncheon and Award ceremony is scheduled for Bishop Richard Finn Auditorium (Catholic Centre), University of Ibadan, Ibadan-Oyo State.

Former Vice President and Turakin Adamawa, Atiku Abubakar, GCON, is Chairman of the occasion. Former Minister of External Affairs and former Nigeria Permanent Representative to the United Nations, Professor Ibrahim Agboola Gambari, CFR, is Special Guest of Honour. Former Governor of Abia State and Founder/Chairman SLOK Group, Dr. Orji Uzor Kalu, MON, and Chairman Eko Hospitals and Onya Ozoma of Onitsha, Dr. Amaechi Obiora are Guests of Honour. Vice Chancellor of the university, Professor Abel Idowu Olayinka is Chief Host.

A statement co-signed by the Chairman and Secretary of the Award Planning Committee, Dr. E.O Adewoye and Mr. Temidire Olumoyegun read in part:

“Since leaving the University, Odigie-Oyegun has worked in the Nigerian public service and greatly contributed to the growth of the nation. He later became the first Executive Governor of Edo State. Indeed, since his foray into politics, Chief Odigie-Oyegun has continued to excel and only recently in concert with his esteemed colleagues in the Party led All Progressives Congress (APC) to win the 2015 Presidential election.

“Though disarmingly humble, the revered septuagenarian has continued to put his footprints on the sands of time. Moulded like the Old Roman General ‘He came, he saw and he is still conquering’.

“In appreciation of his service to our dear Nation and for truly identifying with the aspiration and goals of our University and Alumni Association, we are indeed proud to present him as our Alumnus of the Year 2015.”

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: