NUC registers Moshood Abiola varsity


The National Universities Commission (NUC) has issued a fresh licence, registering newly established Ogun State owned Moshood Abiola University of Science and Technology, Abeokuta, thus bringing to three the number of universities owned by the state, others being Tai Solarin University of Education and Olabisi Onabanjo University.

The new university is expected to replace the former Moshood Abiola Polytechnic (MAPOLY), which has now been reverted to Ogun State Polytechnic.

The Executive Secretary of NUC, Professor Abubakar Abdulrasheed, while handing over the licence to the state governor, Senator Ibikunle Amosun, said the commission has no doubt on the state’s ability to build a strong and virile university worthy of competing with others the world over.

He said that except Ondo and Ogun states which have three varsities, several other states including Imo and Edo states have at least two universities with the exception of Zamfara which is yet to establish a state owned university.

While accepting the letter of approval, Governor Amosun promised the commitment of the state government to the full realisation of the university in the next five years.

He said: ‘’Let me say this university is a product of evolution, springing up from the upgrade of Moshood Abiola polytechnic. With God on our side, it will be a sort of benchmark on how universities should be.

We shall leave no stone unturned in our desire as a government for building human capacity and quality personnel’’.

The recognition of Moshood Abiola University by NUC brings the number of public universities in Nigeria to 85, state owned to 45, and total number of universities (both state owned, public and private)

Augustine Okezie. Abuja

About the author


Leave a Comment