More Surprises as PDP Destroys APC Invincibility in Lagos — Daily Times Nigeria Press "Enter" to skip to content

More Surprises as PDP Destroys APC Invincibility in Lagos

The seeming invincibility of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Lagos State has at last been broken by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

In the results of the just concluded Presidential and National Assembly elections, the PDP snatched five of the 20 House of Representatives seats from the APC. The Accord Party also won one seat.

In the Presidential election, the PDP got 632,327 votes while the APC clinched a marginal win of 792,460. This was the first time the PDP is making such inroad in the state.

In Amuwo Odofin local government, which has a very high Igbo population, especially in areas like Kirikiri, Satellite Town and FESTAC, the PDP candidate, Oghene Egboh, who is from the Niger-Delta, defeated Mr. Ganiyu Olukolu of the APC.

In Ajeromi/Ifelodun, which is one of the most densely populated areas in Lagos State and is home to Ajegunle (another Igbo dominated area), the PDP candidate, Mrs. Rita Orji, who also hails from the South-East, defeated Taiwo Adenekan of the APC.

The story was the same in the Igbo-dominated Ojo LG, where the PDP candidate, Mr. Tajudeen Obasa, won the seat.

In Surulere federal constituency 2, which is home to Aguda and a few Igbo settlements, Mr. Tunji Soyinka of the PDP defeated Mr. Hakeem Bamgbala of the APC.

It was learnt that apart from the ‘Igbo’ factor, the incumbent rep, Mr. Aliyu Kazeem, had been in court with Bamgbala over the conduct of the primary.

In Mushin federal constituency 2, the APC candidate, Yemi Alli, lost to Dauda Kako-Aare of the Accord Party.

Kako-Aare, who is the incumbent, lost at the APC primary last December to Alli and defected to Accord.

In Oshodi/Isolo federal constituency 2, the incumbent, Mr. Akeem Munir of the APC, lost to Mr. Tony Nwoolu of the PDP.

But Honourable Solomon Olamilekan Adeola of the All Progressives Congress (APC) made history by becoming the first legislator in the country to be consecutively elected from the state legislature to the Lower House of the National Assembly and finally to the Senate.

In the results of the Lagos West senatorial district, APC scored a total of 429,765 votes to his beat his rival, Mr Segun Adewale of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who scored 372,421 in the largest senatorial district in Nigeria.

Adeola won in six of the 10 councils of the district, namely Alimosho, Agege, Ifako Ijaiye, Mushin, Badagry and Ikeja, to beat his rival with 57,344 votes.

He lost in Ojo, Amuwo Odofin, Oshodi /Isolo and Ajeromi /Ifelodun local government areas.

Also, INEC, on Sunday declared APC candidates winners of Lagos Island federal constituencies 1 and 2 in Lagos State.

For the Lagos Island Federal Constituency 1, Mr Enitan Badru of the APC polled 15,389 votes to defeat Mr Lukman Oladipo of the PDP, who secured 5,732 votes.

In Lagos Island Federal Constituency 2, Mr Yakubu Balogun of the APC got 16,437 votes, while Mr Rahman Salawe of the PDP secured 7,305 votes.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply