Press "Enter" to skip to content

ITU allows 30 African nations to delay digital TV migration

The International Telecommunications Union (ITU) has proceeded to allow 30 African countries to extend their digital migration beyond the original global deadline which has been set for June 2015.
Accordingly, there are a number countries that have been given an extension, including: Algeria, Morocco, Tunisia, Egypt, Ethiopia and the Sudan among others.
Director-General of the Communications Authority (CA), Kenya, Francis Wangusi said that this development essentially contradicts an argument that Kenya must migrate by June 2015 or it would attract sanctions.
Wangusi stated that Kenya had made a commitment to adhere to the ITU deadline; hence millions of Kenyans have not been able to access information through their TV sets for more than a week since the government shut down analogue broadcasts on 14 February.
He insisted that Kenya will not seek an extension because Africa belongs to Region One, which is slated for migration in 2015, adding that CA is expected to penalise the African Digital Network, after its members went off air on 14 February, 2015.

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: