Press "Enter" to skip to content

Fuel subsidy: FG inaugurates 16-man palliatives committee

The Federal Government has inaugurated a 16-man joint Technical Committee with organised labour for the implementation of palliatives for cushioning the effect of the increase in the pump price of petrol.

The committee which has Minister of Labour and Employment Dr. Chris Ngige as Chairman also has representatives from the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) and Trade Union Congress of Nigeria (TUC).

Other representatives of the government on the committee include Minister of State, Petroleum Dr. Ibe Kachikwu, Minister of Budget and National Planning Udo Udoma, Minister of Finance Mrs. Kemi Adeosun, Minister of Solid Minerals Dr. Kayode Fayemi, the Chairman of National Salaries and Wages Commission, Chief R.O Egbule and the representative of the Head of Service of the Federation.

The team from the NLC will be led by Deputy President of the Congress, Comrade Peters Adeyemi and will include Comrade Amaechi Asugwuni, Comrade Ibrahim Khaleel, Comrade Igwe Achese and Comrade Abdullahi Sale.

A statement from the Deputy Director, Press in the Ministry of Labour and Employment, Samuel Olowookere said the TUC will be represented by Comrade Augustine Etafo, Comrade Alade Bashir Lawal and Comrade Abdullahi Sale.

Prof. Adamu Usman from the office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation is to serve as secretary to the committee which will be inaugurated today (Thursday) at the Conference hall of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation.

The committee is expected to work our modalities for the implementation of the N500 billion social intervention contained in the 2016 budget and submit its report within two weeks from the date of inauguration.

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: