FG inaugurates presidential committee on Buahari's second term Press "Enter" to skip to content

FG inaugurates presidential committee on Buahari’s second term

Mathew Dadiya, Abuja

The federal government has flagged off the inter-ministerial presidential inauguration committee for the second term inauguration of President Muhammadu Buhari.

Secreatary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Boss Mustapha while inaugurating the committee, recalled that about four years ago, the Buhari administration came on board with the promise of change built on reviving the economy, improving security and fighting corruption.

Mustapha, who is the chairman of the second term inauguration committee, said that the government has since 2015 committed itself to working hard to achieve sustainable economic growth, as well as a secure and corruption free nation.

As a reward for exemplary leadership and sincerity, the SGF said that Nigerians from different ethnic and cultural backgrounds gave President Buhari a new mandate of four years.

“Preparatory to the inauguration of the new administration, Mr. President approved the constitution of this presidential inter-ministerial inauguration committee to plan, organize and execute all approved programmes for the series of activities that would be undertaken,” the SGF said.

Members of the inauguration committee are the secretary to the government of the federation as chairman; ministers of information and culture, interior, foreign affairs, FCT, defence, health, education, minister of state (aviation), the APC national chairman, inspector general of police, director general (Department of State Services) and the commander, Brigade of Guards.

Others members include, permanent secretary (State House), permanent secretary (general services office), permanent secretary (political & economic affairs office) as secretary.

The chairman also, said that other sub-committees would be constituted to work closely with the main committee.

The committee’s terms of reference are to plan, organize and execute all approved activities for the 2019 presidential inauguration, co-opt any organization(s) /person (s) relevant towards the successful execution of the programme, document for posterity all planned activities for the inauguration and carry out any other assignment as may be required towards the successful implementation of the programme.

“The presidential inauguration committee in the course of the implementation of this assignment, several sub-committees to be headed by ministers will be constituted.

For inclusiveness however, other members would be drawn from, not just the MDAs, but also from the APC, the presidential campaign council, the Buhari Support Organization as well as women and youth campaign council.

“The mandate of these sub-committees will be clearly spelt out to reflect the purpose for which they have been constituted. Ahead of such constitution, I wish to underscore the need for collaboration and synergy amongst sub-committees while planning and executing the approved programmes.

“Finally, let me remind all members of the importance of this assignment and that no stone should be left unturned to ensure that this 2019 presidential inauguration committee delivers on its mandate. We must therefore deploy our wealth of experience and show unwavering commitment to this exercise,” the SGF stated.