Press "Enter" to skip to content

Etisalat U-15 School Cup: Eight Teams Qualify for National Finals

Eight regional school teams have qualified for the national finals of the second edition of the Etisalat U-15 School Cup.

Speaking yesterday at a press conference in Lagos, the Chief Marketing Officer, Etisalat Nigeria, Francesco Angelone revealed that the teams emerged from the regional matches that took place among 37 school football teams across eight regions in Nigeria, last year.

The schools that qualified are; Greensprings Secondary School, Lekki, Lagos; Asegun High School, Oyo; Government Secondary School, Imo and Washington Memorial Grammar School, Onitsha, Anambra.

Others are; Rimi College, Kaduna; Army Day Junior Secondary School, Sokoto; Winners College Akure, Ondo and Government Model School, Bida, Niger.

While describing Etisalat U-15 School Cup as an innovative platform designed to develop grassroots football and discover future football stars in Nigeria, Angelone expressed satisfaction with the level of talent and passion that had been displayed by the teams in the competition.

“I must commend the efforts of all the school teams that participated in the regional matches of the second edition of the Etisalat School Cup. As we kick-off the National finals today, it is my belief that, more talent will be discovered in the Nigerian football scene,” he said.

Commending the initiative, President, Nigeria School Sports Federation, (NSSF) Malam Ibrahim Mohammad appreciated Etisalat Nigeria for stepping forward at the time when an intervention in grassroots football was most needed.

The quarter and semi -finals of the competition will take place between April 21 and 24, while the final is scheduled for April 25.

The winner of the competition will be rewarded with a cash prize of N2 million for the school, while players on the team will be given a sum of N50, 000 each. The first runner up team would be awarded with N1 million to the school and N30, 000 for each player, while N750, 000 will be given to the third placed school and N20, 000 to players in the 3rd place team.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: