Press "Enter" to skip to content

Ekiti 19 APC Lawmakers Teargas as They Attempt to Reconvene

On Wednesday after the 19 APC lawmakers had said the opening prayer to commence sitting, Taiwo Lakanu, the Ekiti State Commissioner of Police led a team of policemen and soldiers to the Assembly complex. After an altercation with the lawmakers, the security operatives, led by Lakanu, released teargas to disperse them. They subsequently shut down the Assembly complex and sent all workers home.
The 19 lawmakers, perhaps buoyed by the emergence of General Muhammadu Buhari as president-elect, had arrived at the premises of the Ekiti State House of Assembly to resume parliamentary functions. This was after their absence from the Assembly for several months. Only seven of the lawmakers, who are now members of the Peoples Democratic Party have been sitting since Ayo Fayose emerged as the governor of the state last year. The seven lawmakers have indeed elected a speaker of their own and have been passing bills into law.

Journalists who were at the sitting were not spared the ordeal of the teargas.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply