De Bruyne, Arnold win premier league awards — Daily Times Nigeria

De Bruyne, Arnold win premier league awards

Kevin De Bruyne

By Rilwan Balogun

Kevin De Bruyne was voted winner of the Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA) award as he beat five other competitors.

De Bruyne shone like a million star in the 2019/2020 season, as he equalled Thierry Henry’s Premier League assist record.

The Belgian playmaker had 20 assists for Manchester City last season and was tipped earlier to cart home the award.

De Bruyne beat Manchester City teammate, Raheem Sterling and four Liverpool players – Sadio Mane, Virgil Van Dijk, Trent Alexander Arnold and Jordan Henderson to win the award.

In the Young Player of the Year category, Arnold carted home the award as a reward for a stellar season where he played a huge role in Liverpool’s unprecedented first triumph in the Premier League era.

READ ALSO: Sports update: English premier league to restart the season on June 17

Arnold was very instrumental to Liverpool’s dominance last season as he registered 14 assists.

He beat Manchester United duo of Marcus Rashford and Mason Greenwood, Chelsea’s Mason Mount and Tammy Abraham and Arsenal’s Bukayo Saka to the award.

About the author

Our Correspondent

Leave a Comment