Daily Times Inaugurates Editorial Board

Daily Times Inaugurates Editorial Board

Another milestone was reached by the new Daily Times when its editorial board was inaugurated with members affirming their commitment to content that would shape national discourse.              

The venue was the flagship newspaper’s Victoria Island, Lagos office.

Publisher Fidelis Anosike said their acceptance to serve on the board, either as advisers or members, would boost the management’s resolve to drive the iconic newspaper on a new trajectory.

“Let me assure you that our vision is very clear: to make the Daily Times the most credible and authoritative news platform in Africa,” Anosike said.

He described the composition of the editorial board as a remarkable milestone for the renowned title. According to him, this underscores commitment to robust journalism, unimpeachable editorial standards and rigorous intellectual dissecting of the newspaper’s commentaries.

 “The list of members, with its quality and diversity, speaks to my desire to make the Daily Times a truly independent newspaper that can earn public trust and stakeholders’ confidence,” the publisher noted.

He stressed that the newspaper had made a deliberate choice of erudite professors, dons, veteran journalists and corporate executives, noting that the Daily Times would benefit from their collective wisdom, intellectual erudition and wealth of varied experience.

In his remarks, Board Chairperson Prof. Hope Eghagha, on behalf of the members, thanked the publisher for the opportunity to contribute to lifting the paper to greater heights.

He said the board was committed to treating Nigeria’s interest as its foremost priority. He expressed optimism that in the coming days, Daily Times editorials would become indispensable while uncompromisingly “speaking truth to power.”

The editorial advisers are: Prof. George Obiozor, Mr. Ray Ekpu, and Prof. Idowu Sobowale.

Editorial Board members are: Prof. Hope Eghagha (chairperson), Prof. Vicky Ikpeze (vice chairperson), Prof. Tony Afejuku,  Prof. Tunji Olaopa, Prof. Abdullahi Liman and Prof. (Mrs.) Ayo Atsenuwa.

Others are: Prof. Jim Unah, Dr. Isaac Nwaogwugwu, Dr. Kayode Esuola, Dr. Promise Adiele, Mrs. Omowale David-Ashiru, and Aare Tunji Okegbola.

About the author

Omotayo Yusuf

Leave a Comment