Aubameyang snubbed as controversy trails FA’s player of the season list

Much argumentative is currently flooding media spaces following the announcement of seven players who have made the final draft of Premier League player of the season.

League winners, Liverpool have three players in the mix- Senagalese Sadio Mane who scored 18 goals and registered 7 assists, Football Writers Association player of the season, Jordan Henderson, and Trent Alexander-Arnold who notched 13 assists.

READ ALSO: UCL preview: Madrid can overturn 1-2 deficit- Seedorf

Also in the race are Golden Boot winner Jamie Vardy, who scored 23 times for Leicester City and Manchester City’s Kevin de Bruyne, who bagged 20 assists, seven clear of 2nd placed Alexander-Arnold.

Southampton’s Danny Ings also joins the summit, having registered 22 goals, one behind top scorer, Jamie Vardy. Burnley’s Nick Pope also joins in, having made 120 saves, keeping 15 clean sheets in the process.

There were however no places for Arsenal skipper, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Manchester City’s Raheem Sterling. Aubameyang scored 22 goals, one behind Jamie Vardy, which raises question marks as to why the Gabonese goal maestro was left out. City’s Raheem Sterling also enjoyed an impressive outing with 20 goals in 30 appearances.

Eight players were also nominated for the inaugural TAG Heuer Young Player of the Season award, launched to celebrate the Premier League’s prodigious talents. Among the young players honoured in this category include Manchester United’s attacking trio of Anthony Martial, Marcus Rashford and Mason Greenwood.

Also nominated were Aston Villa’s Jack Grealish, Chelsea’s American sensation, Christian Pulisic, Sheffield United’s goalie, Dean Henderson, Chelsea’s Mason Mount, as well as Liverpool’s Trent Alexander-Arnold.

Voting closes at 18:00 BST on Monday 10th August, 2020.

About the author

Edidiong-Ronny Ikpoto

Leave a Comment