Press "Enter" to skip to content

Adedoyin, Ex-Minister Wins House of Reps in Kwara

Princess Funke Adedoyin, a former Minister in President Olusegun Obasanjo’s administration, has been declared winner of the Kwara House of Representatives’ election for the Ekiti, Isin, Irepodun and Oke-Ero Federal Constituency.

Adedoyin, who was a former Minister of Youth Development and later Minister of State for Health, contested on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The Returning Officer, Mr. Murtala Tukur, while announcing the result at the Irepodun Local Government secretariat on Sunday in Omu-Aran, said Adedoyin polled 26,758 votes to defeat her closest rival, Mr. Richard Babatunde of the PDP, who scored 23,123 votes.

Tukur, a don of the University of Ilorin, disclosed that “the total number of valid votes was 50,527, with rejected votes 2,729, for the total number of votes cast to be 53,256”.

Adedoyin, in an interview with our correspondent, attributed the victory to the support of her party and the entire people of the constituency.



Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply