42 Obaseki’s appointees resign ahead of Edo Elections [Full list]

We will resist attempt to illegally take over Edo Assembly, says Obaseki

The appointees of Governor Godwin Obaseki have continued to resign weekly even as the Edo governorship Election Day nears. It appears that the only ally to the Governor is his deputy, Phillip Shaibu. 

Many of those who turned their backs to the Governor are staunch members of the All Progressives Congress (APC). They refused to join Obaseki when he moved to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Recall that Daily Times reported when the Governor defected from APC after being disqualified from participating in the primary elections. Osagie Ize-Iyamu, the PDP candidate in 2016, emerged the APC flagbearer.

Obaseki had said he saw this coming, explaining that his predecessor, Adams Oshiomhole brought in Ize-Iyamu from the PDP just to settle scores.

Last week, Oshiomhole, ex-APC National Chairman, stated that he made a mistake supporting Obaseki to become Edo helmsman.

READ ALSO: Edo 2020: Obaseki’s campaign director, 2 others resign

The number of resigned appointees has hit 42 and there are speculations that more will tender their resignation.

Recent instances include Patrick Iyoha, Director of Obaseki/Shaibu Movement (OSM)., and a member of the Waste Management Board.

Three members in the Edo State Oil and Gas Producing Area Development Commission (EDSOGPADEC) Board – Osamwonyi Atu, Emmanuel Odigie, and Rilwanu Oshiomhole, representing Edo-South, Edo-Central, and Edo-North respectively.

Two members, including Gabriel Oiboh, Chairman, State Post Primary Education Board, left too.

Former Chief of Staff, Taiwo Akerele was the first major appointee who resigned. 

Paul Ohonbamu, Commissioner for Communication and Orientation, also bade Obaseki farewell. 

Below is a full list of the 42 ex-appointees.

Taiwo Akerele – Chief of Staff

 John Mayaki – Chief Press Secretary

 Paul Ohonbamu – Commissioner

 Omua Oni-Okpako – Commissioner

 Monday Ogiegor – MD EDSTMA

 Christopher Adesotu – Chairman, Vocational and Technical Education Board

 Gabriel Oiboh – Chairman, Post Primary Education Board

 Osanyemwere Osawe – Member, Post Primary Education Board

 Fulani Yakubu Ekpeyoung – SSA

 Adeyanju Noah – SSA

 Cordelia M. Iyogun – SSA

 James Osheku – SSA

 Louis Osamuyi Osayande – SSA

 Ernest Unuaghon Imina – SSA

 Prince Lucky Igbinedion – SSA

 Chris Oseiwe Oribhabor – SSA

 Solomon Okoduwa – SSA

 Kennedy Itepu – SSA

 Sabbath Egbeyon – SSA

 Emike Obazee – SA

 Goodluck A. Uyigue – SA

 Razaq Rotimi – SA

 Olajide Victor Oloruyomi – SA

 Smart Bank – SA

 Bright Njor – SA

 Kingsley Ekueme – SA

 Joshua Akhabue – SA

 Oladele Ayotope Josiah – SA

 Boyi Magdalene – SA

 Osarobo Osaro Anthony – SA

 Aibangbee Chico – SA

 Obayagbona Augustine – SA

 Osamwonyi Atu – EDSOGPADEC

 Emmanuel Odigie – EDSOGPADEC

 Rilwanu Oshiomhole – EDSOGPADEC

 Okondoh Patrick Iyoha – OSM Director

 Maureen Osaro Ekhoragbon – Vice-Chairman Ovia North-East

 Aghedo Oscar – Secretary Ovia North-East

 Kehinde Garrick Osemwingie – Secretary, Uhumwonde LGC

 Otaniyen Igbinosa – Orhiomwon Supervisor

 Martins Ozakpolor – Orhiomwon Supervisor

 Vincent Ehibor – Orhiomwon Supervisor

However, Obaseki has boasted that the PDP will win the election by 75 percent. 

Edo state elections are set to hold September 19, according to INEC.

About the author

Oluwadamilola Adedeji

Leave a Comment