Press "Enter" to skip to content

12 aspirants jostle for PDP presidential ticket

…As Jang, Saraki return nomination forms
With the submission of expression of interest and nomination forms on Monday by former Plateau State Governor, Senator Jonah Jang and the Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki, number of aspirants seeking the presidential ticket of the Peoples Democratic Parry (PDP) have risen to 12.

Jang, a former military governor of old Gongola, Benue and Plateau states, said as a retired military officer, he will take the security of lives of Nigerians as one of the major thrust of his government if given the opportunity to lead the country.

The senator representing Plateau North senatorial district said he believes in the restructuring of the country to address imbalance in the federation.

He also promised proper sharing of power, positions and political offices among federating units.

While submitting his form, Saraki said he is in the race to make the country great again and he had earmarked eight stages that will culminate in his occupation of the Aso Rock State House.

He said he has been moving round the country to consult leaders of thought irrespective of party affiliations to inform them of his resolve to return Nigeria back to her place of honour in the comity of nations.

Saraki promised to unite the country that is being driven apart by ethnic and religious tendencies.

He further urged the leadership of the PDP to ensure a level playing ground by ensuring that the selection process of picking the party’s flag bearer is credible.

The Senate president expressed confidence in the ability of the party to rescue power from the President Buhari-led All Progressives Congress (APC).

The National Organising Secretary of the PDP, Col. Austin Akobundu (rtd), said PDP is blessed with array of eminently qualified aspirants that can lead the country back to path of prosperity.

He said the many reformation going on in the party will surely assist anybody that eventually wins the presidential ticket in winning the 2019 election.

He said: “We want to assure you that we are going to create a credible platform through which one of you will emerge”.

Other aspirants that had earlier submitted their forms ahead of today’s deadline for returning of forms are Atiku Abubakar, Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso, Kabiru Tanimu Turaki, Attahiru Bafarawa, Ibrahim Dankwambo, Datti Baba-Ahmed, Senator David Mark, Sule Lamido, Ahmed Makarfi and Stanley Osifo.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply